Car crashes are always stressful and inconvenient, and when the at-fault motorist fails to stop as state traffic laws require, the ordeal can leave you feeling even more frustrated and overwhelmed. While regulations require everyone involved in a wreck to stop at the scene of an accident, exchange information, and file a report with the authorities, sometimes people fail to follow this law due to intoxication or driving without the minimum insurance coverage.

Fortunately, when drivers flee the scene, you may still be able to collect a payout to cover your damages and losses. An auto wreck attorney at Whetstone Perkins & Fulda could offer you legal guidance and help collect the compensation needed to cover your injuries and damages after a hit and run car accident in Columbia.

Steps to Take After a Hit and Run Wreck

There are steps to take to protect yourself and increase your chances of collecting an insurance settlement to fix the damages when you are involved in a hit and run wreck in Columbia.

Call the Local Authorities

After being involved in an accident with someone who fails to stop, the first step is to call the local authorities to report the collision. They will investigate and complete an accident report, which is essential for establishing the cost of damages.

Note Details About the Vehicle

Notate everything you noticed about the vehicle to provide to the police officer. Details such as the license plate number, even if partial, color, make, and model of the car could help the authorities locate the driver who fled the accident scene.

Speak to Witnesses and Collect Their Information

Collect contact information and statements from any witnesses of the crash. They may also have additional details about the other vehicle or driver they can provide to the police officer investigating the accident.

Seek Medical Care

Seeking medical care is essential for collecting a payout to cover bodily injuries and other losses. Visiting a doctor is vital even if you feel okay in the immediate aftermath, as medical records help establish a link between the wreck and your losses.

Contact Your Automobile Insurance Company

Call your insurer to report the hit and run vehicle collision and provide details about the property damages you sustained.

Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in South Carolina

All drivers must carry a minimum amount of liability car insurance to travel on roads and highways or risk penalties. The South Carolina Department of Insurance requires motorists to have a policy with a minimum of $25,000 per person for bodily injuries and at least $50,000 per accident. The policy must also include $25,000 for property damage resulting from the collision.

Motorists must also carry uninsured motorists or UM coverage to pay for property damage and injuries and protect themselves when a driver with no or insufficient coverage causes collisions. Fortunately, UM coverage also protects you after Columbia hit and run car crashes.

Schedule a Meeting With a Qualified Attorney About Columbia Hit and Run Car Accidents

Fleeing the scene of vehicle collisions is unlawful and leaves the other drivers in complicated situations. Even so, it still happens sometimes and understanding the proper steps to take allows you to protect yourself by collecting a settlement to pay for the damages.

A hard-working lawyer skilled in handling cases from hit and run car accidents in Columbia could evaluate the case details and help determine the most effective course of action. Call Whetstone Perkins & Fulda today to schedule an appointment.

Whetstone Perkins & Fulda